Did You Get A Drone For Christmas? Don’t Forget To Register It! NY Drone Injury Lawyer Explains

Flying copter with their gear on the background of a beautiful sunset.

I have recently blogged about New York drone personal injuries and about getting drone insurance.  Today I have an important reminder for all new blog owners (specifically to those of you who have received one for Christmas) that you need to REGISTER the drone before you fly it outdoors.

Specifically, the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) announced on December 14, 2015 that small unmanned aircraft (UAS), otherwise known as drones, weighing more than 0.55 pounds and less than 55 pounds, must be registered. Even a child flying a drone in the backyard has to register!  The three-year registration is only $5 registration, but the FAA is waiving the fee from December 21, 2015 to January 20, 2106 for new drone owners. You will also be required to have your FAA registration certificate in your possession when operating your drone.

If the owner of the drone is less than 13 years of age, then a person 13 or older is required to register the drone.

For more information, go to Faa.gov.

The penalty for failure to register?  Your drone will be “grounded”.  Just kidding.  It’s much worse. The FAA may slap a fine of up $27,500 on you.  Criminal penalties include fines of up to $250,000 and/or imprisonment for up to three years.

Yikes! For crying out loud, REGISTER!

Keep safe!

Mike Bersani

Email me at: bersani@michaels-smolak.com                   I’d love to hear from you!

Michael G. Bersani, Esq.

michaels-smolak.com
Syracuse & Central New York Drone Accident Lawyers
Michaels & Smolak, P.C.

1-315-253-3293

badges
Contact Information